Tsuen Wan New Town 荃灣新市鎮

Tsuen Wan New Town is a new town in Hong Kong. It spans Tsuen WanKwai Chung and the eastern part of Tsing Yi Island. Traditionally, the administrative officials of Tsuen Wan managed the area of Tsuen Wan proper, Kwai Chung, Tsing Yi Island, Ma Wan and Northeast Lantau Island. It is the only area in New Territories which is classified as urban area of Hong Kong by Planning Department[1] and Urban Renewal Authority.[2] (But Ma Wan and Northeast Lantau Island are excluded)

Tsuen Wan Street 荃灣街上

Tsuen Wan Street 荃灣街上

In 1982 the Tsuen Wan District was created under the District Administration Scheme. In 1985, with the explosion of population in the new town, the district was spun off from Kwai Chung and Tsing Yi to form the new Kwai Tsing District. Thus, the town is now under two administrative districts.

Its total development area is about 24 square kilometres (9.3 sq mi). The population of the new town is approximately 801,800 and reaches the planned capacity.

Although Tsuen Wan New Town belongs to the New Territories, it is also considered a part of Hong Kong metro area, like Hong Kong Island and Kowloon.[3] It is because the town was developed early and is not geographically separated from Kowloon by hills or mountains. Also, there are no New Territories taxis providing service in Tsuen Wan New Town except at Tsuen Wan Station and Tsing Yi Station, unlike other new towns in New Territories. In the latest official reports, Kwai Chung New Town and Tsing Yi New Town are separated from Tsuen Wan New Town.